Google Ads

How to Cancel and Delete Your Google Ads Account (Simple Steps)

How to Cancel and Delete Your Google Ads Account

The process of canceling and deleting your Google Adwords account is simple and straightforward.

Here’s how you can do it.

Table of Contents

How to Cancel a Google Ads Account

  1. Log in to your Google Ads account
  2. On the right-top corner of the page, click on “Settings” (look for the tools icon) and select ‘Preferences’ from the drop-down menu.
Google Ads dashboard with settings drop-down menu

3. Scroll down until you find the ‘Account Status’ section option and click on it.

Google Ads with Account Status highlighted

4. Finally, click on ‘Cancel my account’.

Google Ads with an arrow pointing to 'Cancel my account'

Your account will now be canceled.

Remember, you can only cancel your Google Ads account if you have administrative access to your account and you’ve set up billing for it.

If you’re canceling one of your managed accounts, you will need administrative access to the manager account that owns it.

What to Expect After Your Google Ads Account Is Canceled

Once you cancel your account, all of your active campaigns will automatically stop and ads will be paused within 24 hours. 

If you have refundable credit or balance in your account, you’ll receive a refund within four weeks using the payment method you’ve used in your campaigns.

However, you will also have to pay for any accrued cost in your account. Google will charge you for the cost that your ads accrued before account cancellation that hasn’t yet been billed within 31 days of the cancellation.

Keep in mind that you can always reactivate your canceled account to create campaigns again!

How to Delete a Google Ads Account

Here are the steps for deleting a Google Ads account:

  1. Log in to your Google Ads account.
  2. On the top-right corner of the page, click on your profile picture/Gmail username and select ‘Manage your Google account’ from the drop-down menu.
Google Ads with 'Manage your Google account' highlighted

3. Find the ‘Data and Privacy’ tab on the left side of the page and click it.

Google Account with an arrow pointing to 'Data and Privacy'

4. Scroll down until you find ‘More Options’ and click on it.